Summer Project: Whisky and Cheese Pairings

Summer-Party

What is it about summer that fosters days explained away by the old school expression “the road is paved with good intentions?” My list of “to-do” is long and as I sip a new single malt scotch I simply ponder scribbling down some tasting notes, writing a review and updating my blog. Ahh. Good intentions abound.

Fortunately, my living as a sloth was interrupted by a request to design and present a whisky tasting as a fall fundraiser for a local Senior Council in Aging. We will all get there someday, so to my mind, keeping the support line for seniors available is a worthy cause.

I have gotten off the chaise lounge and am pumping up the creative juices.  After considering which four whiskies to present I thought about the food that will be served and potential cheeses to pair with each of whiskies. Wait! Why not have a whisky and cheese infographic to have as a handout? Why not spend a few days doing some research and create my own version of a whisky and cheese infographic? Thus inspired, I forged ahead.

The topic is not entirely new to me. I included some suggestions for pairings in my book Whisky Tales: Tastings and Temptations. Over the years I have found whisky and cheese pairings to be an intriguing combination and one that gets tasting participants excited.

WhiskyCheesesamples

The resulting infographic is set up with five distinct whisky flavor profiles:

  1. Peat and Smoke
  2. Sherry and Fruit
  3. Salty and Peat
  4. Floral and Honey
  5. Spicy and Grassy

I have selected six scotch whiskies that fall somewhere within the parameters of each flavor profile and listed them by region. Most are single malt whisky, a few are blends.

July2015 194

The cheeses selected also have five distinct flavor profiles:

  1. Strong and Complex
  2. Rich and Versatile
  3. Nutty and Savory
  4. Fruity and Nutty
  5. Mellow and Delicate

Each whisky flavor profile has two or three corresponding cheese suggestions.

Now, keep in mind that, as with any whisky and cheese pairing, individual preferences may swerve away from the suggestions. That is A-Okay. The infographic is meant to be a general guide and offer but a glimpse into the tasting possibilities. I recommend trying out the suggestions and also try your favorites and discover what works best for you.

The infographic may be downloaded here: WhiskyCheeseInfographic8.2016  The sources are also available for your reading pleasure. Sources for the WhiskyCheeseInfographic2

Now, I can either go back to being a summer sloth or go back to my “to-do” list….first in line a whisky and chocolate infographic. Yum!  That research is worth getting up and moving.

I raise a glass to exploring whisky pairings and time to be a summer sloth!

2 thoughts on “Summer Project: Whisky and Cheese Pairings

Leave a Reply

