Whisky: I want more. A holiday realization

All right. So I am not a spring chicken, nor a summer sizzler, nor a fall fowl, but wishing for magic to make me into a winter wise woman. Fat chance. Anyway. I’ve been looking at all the whisky books on sale this holiday season on Amazon.com and reading the whisky magazines that I subscribe to or snag for free from my favorite whisky shop. And during any given day I scroll through the two hundred plus Twitter accounts I follow to chuckle, sigh, learn and, yes, grow. And then there is Instagram and Facebook to keep up with along with my own blog.  I want more!

Edited warehouse
Ah! If I only had a warehouse.

To say I am steeped in the world of whisky is an understatement as well as a misnomer.  Sure, I am the only one in my family who has more than 200 bottles of whisky – makes me wonder if the family whisky drinkers come to my house just to drink the good stuff.  No, that cannot be true.  On the flip side, there are the several friends I consider true bon vivants of whisky, I learn from them continuously; and, when lucky, get to taste their special whiskies. So what do I mean by being steeped in the world of whisky is an understatement? Well, all that book reading, social media scrolling, blogging and the writing of my own book, gives the appearance to the non-whisky drinkers that tippling is my every day occurrence. The misnomer is: my involvement is barely the tip of the ice that is clinking in the old fashioned glass. Like many whisky fans I realize there is so much more. Whiskies I will never get to try – and that is after grazing through Ian Buxton’s 101 Whiskies to Try book – as well as the hard to find, impossible to afford, and new distilleries opening every year. I want more!

IMG_4136
No! I don’t want any of the varieties of Spam.

Where does all this leave me this holiday season? I asked for a waffle iron for Christmas – this cookware is less expensive than any of the whisky bottles that drool over and cannot reasonably ask Santa and his helpers to bring me. But wait!  Deep in my secret stash are some very fine whiskies. I can pull out an arm full of those bottles and share an evening with friends and simply be grateful for all that I have. The short list: I have family and friends; a whisky collection and time to enjoy it; a warm home filled with electronics, music and good food. Geez! Life is good. I don’t need more.

Camera2014toGarrettchristening 024
Nature says, “enjoy and appreciate.”

I raise a glass to being grateful for a full life, a full glass, and good times to come.

Leave a Reply

