Sell, Swap, Save or Sip?

 Glenmorangie

Remember that bottle of hooch you bought five or ten years ago then promptly forgot about it? Well, it just might bankroll your next adventure or at least pay for the three new bottles of whisky you have been drooling over for months. Really.

 The prices of bourbon, rye, single malt Scotch and many other fine whiskies are now fetching whopping prices. We have all heard of the big ticket auctions and scoffed at the ridiculous prices some of these bottles are bringing in. I recently discovered a bottle of rye in the back of my closet and wondered if it was worth any more than the original price under $100. Low and behold it sold for almost $1000. Now the real conundrum begins. Sell, Swap, Save or Sip?

Waiting for the right moment to open up this beauty.

What’s a girl to do? I mentioned said bottle to a friend over a glass the other night and he immediately offered to buy it. Wait – this is one of my children, albeit a forgotten child, but still one of my own. Well, if my buddy buys it then I know it will be going to a good home, climate control and all. Does justification help make selling easier? No. To make it more complicated, my buddy and I discussed a few other nefarious children within our households. The going prices are obscene, we don’t particularly like that whisky is money and money is everything mentality. But in the background could be heard ca-ching, ca-ching.

Conundrum!! Love. Greed., selfishness. One-upmanship. Can I actually drink all these bottles? Am I saving them for the kids – will they simply drown their sorrows at my funeral with my whisky and have no appreciation for their worth, let alone their fine, nose, palate, and finish? Horrifying visual – my whisky wasted, not my closed casket.

I am trying to do my small part for mankind by having whisky tastings for charity fundraising, by sharing special drams during evenings with friends. Still there is the small but significant stash that is getting louder and chanting: sell, swap, save or sip. I’ve tried pushing them back farther in the closet but they have creeped into my psyche.

PC5 and Octomore 1.1

Let’s break down the logic of each possibility:

  • Sell: Take the money and run…..right back to the list of whiskies wanted. Ugh!
  • Swap: If the bottle is worth $$$, then swapping for another $$$ puts me back in the same quandary.
  • Save: Dah! I will have to revisit this same scenario over and over again.
  • Sip: Can’t have too many bottles opened at once, the angels will grab an extra share and something worthy will get lost in the shuffle. One bottle of late lost its joie-de-vivre from being overlooked for perhaps two years. There was only a couple of drams remaining and two of us selflessly sacrificed our palates and finished the bottle. I couldn’t bear the pain of pouring it down the drain.

See – no easy solution. Sell and take the money for a vacation you say. Hmmm. Swap for several lesser but still desirable bottles. I have too many lesser desirable bottles already. Sell and Swap have a humongous shadow of doom and regret hanging over them. Save. Dah! Sip: I do need to be sober at some point, yes I do.

I ask: What are you going to do with your $$$ bottles??

I raise a glass to fellow whisky drinkers and small collection enthusiasts. Maybe I should start raising two glasses…..

3 thoughts on “Sell, Swap, Save or Sip?

  1. Haha! I only have a limited selection however have always tended to err on the side of ‘sip’ rather than ‘sell’, ‘swap’ or ‘save’… Including one like yours – bought for less than $100 now auctioning at $1,000+.

    What I am interested in doing though is swapping samples from open bottles. I would much rather share and expand my sipping options than over oxidate a fine dram!

    Like

  2. Good questions. I’d say make the sale, but the problem for most is how to do this and not lose a significant portion of the fortune through auction fees, etc. It seems nearly impossible to get these bottles shipped out of the country to interested parties legitimately. I have a trove of editions, including several bottles from the 1930s, that I’ve never had any inhibitions with regard to selling for the sake of meeting a horizon of college tuition payments for my four ever-growing children, but again, there is much frustration these days in avoiding the critical issues of not getting doused by an auction house, locating a buyer, and making a legitimate sale. You mentioned swapping. How and with whom do you accomplish this?

    Like

    1. I would only swap, for now anyway, with others that I know and trust and are living in my area. There is potential with this and I am going to float the idea with a few of my other enthusiasts at our whisky and cigar pairing in September. Stay tuned. Thanks to Everyday Asia for putting out this line of thinking.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

