Surprises at Sarasota’s Whiskey Obsession Festival

I know,  I had my list to try but once inside Michael’s on East massive room, the choices swirled around and a new hunt began.There was the Kilchoman Single Cask 5 Y.O. in the Red Box – Kilchoman gets better and better with each new expression. I will buy this one. Arran’s Premium Sherry Cask surprised me with its beautiful upfront sherry and mellowed-out finish.  I’m not generally a big Arran fan, but this won me over. Finally, the real surprise of the night was the new kid on the block: Jewish Whisky Company, an independent bottler. What? Yes, the name alone brought me to the table.  Joshua Hatton, president and co-founder, described his Single Cask Nation expressions and private club – innovative to say the least.  I tasted the Westland Heavily Peated Single Malt – a 2 Y.O. that spent time in Oloroso casks, and the Glen Moray 7 Y.O. that spent time in a fino sherry butt. Both were bursting with flavor, robust and finishing sweetness. I’m joining the club!

Leave a Reply

